Farewell, Fine Friend

Yesterday I lost a fine friend, my Arabian stallion Egptus Pharo, who shared my life for almost twenty-five years.  He was born in April 1983 at Heaven’s Gate Arabians in Dimondale, Michigan– I purchased him when he was two years old.   A gentle, intelligent animal, he was always a joy to handle, but full of awesome grace and power.   At feeding time I’d set down his feed pan outside the paddock fence– just within his reach– and he would reach under the bottom rail, grab the edge and pull it in to help himself to dinner.  It was a little game we played…one of so many that I will remember.

My thanks go out to Egptus Pharo for all those good years we were able to share…and my deep gratitude to Ron, my kind husband who makes all things possible, who took such care to make this farewell to a great horse a respectful one, and gentle as possible on me.

Losing Pharo has brought to mind all the wonderful horses I have had over the years…and how much they enriched my life from my early childhood in Minnesota on to my present life in New York State.  How lucky I was, to grow up in a time and place where I could ride from dawn ‘til dusk and spend my free time outdoors.   I think about the sense of responsibility these horses taught me, that they were dependent on my care in return for their care of me.   It now seems miraculous to me that most of my childhood friends were able to keep a horse in their back yard, even though we were all from lower to middle income families…but upon our horses we lived like Kings!

When I wasn’t riding horses, I was reading about them.   I’ve decided that today I would share the titles of a few of my favorite books about horses that inspired me as I was growing up.  Perhaps you or someone you know can be inspired as well.

Hobby Horse Hill, Lavinia Davis

The Horsemasters, Don Stanford

The Black Stallion (entire series), Walter Farley

National Velvet, Edith Bagnold

Scarlet Royal , Anne  Emery

The Complete Training of the Horse and Rider, Alois Podhajsky

A Horse of Your Own, M. A. Stoneridge

The Horse of the Desert, W. R. Brown

My Horses, My Teachers, Alois Podhajsky

My Quest for the Arabian Horse, Homer Davenport

Black Beauty, Anna Sewell

Drinkers of the Wind, Carl Raswan

King of the Wind, Marguerite Henry

And Miles to Go, Linell Smith

It has always been important to us to have one of the best selections of horse books available, ranging from children’s and young adult horse-related fiction to factual books on horsemanship, horse care, training and showing, dressage, jumping, and books focusing on particular breeds.   All of our current horse-related inventory can be viewed  here:

“We need another and a wiser and perhaps a more mystical concept of animals… In a world older and more complete than ours they move finished and complete, gifted with extensions of the senses we have lost or never attained, living by voices we shall never hear. They are not brethren, they are not underlings; they are other nations, caught with ourselves in the net of life and time, fellow prisoners of the splendour and travail of the earth.”

Henry Beston

Published in: on 12/16/2009 at 10:24 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldscrolls.wordpress.com/2009/12/16/farewell-fine-friend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your stallion Egptus Pharo. Many of those books have been in my collection as well as I was influenced at a very young age and had my first horse at the age of 4. It sounds like your Pharo brought you many years of joy and memories.

    • Hello Wildstorm,
      Just a note to thank you for the comment you left on my blog about my recent loss of my horse, Egptus Pharo. I really appreciate your thoughtfulness.
      I visited your blog, and you have such beautiful photographs posted there! It made me feel better just looking at them.
      Life goes on, and although the paddock is empty, my heart is full of wonderful memories of this horse.
      Thanks again,
      Cathy

  2. My heartfelt condolences to you on losing your lovely horse. I put my dream horse down over a year ago….I’m still not over it and not a day goes by that I don’t think of him!

    On a lighter note…how I enjoyed you book list…brought back many memories..particularly “Scarlet Royal”. I was just thinking about that book the other day and wondered if it was still in print! Couldn’t remember the author to save my life! I need to reread some of these books of my youth again.

    • Hello half-pass,
      Just a note to thank you for your comments on my blog regarding the loss of my horse, Egptus Pharo. Walking past the empty paddock and stall is the hardest part. Part of loving animals (or anyone, for that matter), is that eventually we have to say goodbye. As you surely know, it’s worth it, nonetheless!
      I visited your blog — it’s wonderful. If you are interested in a copy of Scarlet Royal, we do have a 1952 copy available at our bookstore at http://www.oldscrolls.com . You could also check for other available copies at http://www.addall.com or http://www.bookfinder.com where many used/rare booksellers list out-of-print books.
      Thanks again for sharing your kind thoughts.
      Best Regards,
      Catherine Petruccione
      Old Scrolls Book Shop


Leave a Reply

