Book Review: Lost in Learning – The Art of Discovery

Lost in Learning – The Art of Discovery
Lost in Learning – The Art of Discovery

There are many graduations going on across the country this time of year at high schools, colleges and universities.   This past weekend I attended the commencement ceremonies at Finger Lakes Community College, in Canandaigua, New York, where I have worked for 26 years(!)   It is a wondrous thing to watch students proudly march across the stage to accept their degrees.   Although I have personally never pursued a degree (perhaps my interests in life have been a bit too eclectic), I was honored to receive on Saturday the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service as a secretary in the Career Services Office.  I have followed many students as they struggle with who and what they are to become, and I hope that I have helped encourage and guide more than a few.  Although I have taken some college classes through the years, what I really attribute my success and much of my happiness to is the fact that I learned a love of READING at a very early age.  My older sister taught me to read well before I entered Kindergarten, and I quickly caught on to the delightful fact that I could “travel” anywhere and learn about anything from the experience and knowledge of others captured in the pages of books.  My favorite time in any school was time spent in the Library, which to me always seemed like a veritable feast of information and new experience.   It’s no wonder that I became a bookseller, and that I love being a bookseller.  I believe in the power of books.

Isabella D'Este

So I thought this would be a good time to share with you a book which was recently sent to me for review called Lost in Learning – The Art of Discovery.   It has many true thoughts on inspired learning and what constitutes “a good education.”  This wonderful book is an appeal to the art of exploration and open-mindedness, more as it was viewed in the Age of Discovery when learning was considered a continuous wondrous voyage rather than simply earning a piece of paper to get your foot in the door to a high paying job.  The author, Eva Koleva Timothy, has done a series of gorgeous Duotone photographs that are as inspiring as the lovely quotations and short essays on great artists, creators, thinkers and discoverers of the past.

Fusoris Astolabe

Fusoris Astolabe

From the Introduction:

“Education” can be something we plod wearily through to the end of the semester, trying only to meet the requirements or gain the favor of those who designed the course.  But how much better to embrace learning as that lifelong quest through which we create meaning as we pursue our dreams!  May all your learning voyages be filled with inspiration, and may they lead you to where you long to be.”

– Eva Koleva Timothy

The beautiful photographs done by Eva are an inspiration in themselves.  These photos are just a few samples of her work from Lost in Learning…to see them in their true glory, visit the website and then order the book!  It would be such a phenomenal gift for students as they pursue their life’s journey.

About the author:

Eva Koleva Timothy grew up in Communist Bulgaria.  From that repressive background she came to cherish the pursuit of personal passion and the artistic freedom to view the world for its possibilities whatever the circumstance. A Licentiate of the Royal Photographic Society of Great Britain, she is widely known for her vision of arts inherent power to focus, refine and inspire the human spirit.  She resides in Newbury, Massachusetts with her husband and three children.

The official publication date of the book is September 1, 2010, Athenaeum Publishing, P.O. Box 1381, Newburyport, MA  01950   (ISBN: 978-0-615-34394-5   Hardcover with  Dust Jacket)

For more information, visit http://www.lostinlearning.com

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldscrolls.wordpress.com/2010/05/17/book-review-lost-in-learning-the-art-of-discovery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

