A Biblio Valentine – a hand-crafted leather clamshell case

My valentine knows the way to my heart!

Hand crafted by my husband Ron, this is a leather clamshell case he made especially for my first edition of the Pulitzer Prize winning novel Early Autumn, by Louis Bromfield (NY: Frederick A. Stokes, 1926) — part of my Louis Bromfield collection.  I couldn’t have received a better valentine gift – the carefully handcrafted work of my husband, wrapped around the work of my favorite author.

Ron has always been a craftsman – a woodworker, a marble tile layer, a landscaper – every task he takes on is done carefully, beautifully, with love of the craft and the object.

He built the bookcases in our shop and library, and refinished the wood floors, hardscaped the reading garden, restored much of this 1850’s farmhouse.

He has watched me collect books by Louis Bromfield for many years, an author I have admired and collected since my youth.  I will write more about the collection (which includes all of Louis Bromfield’s books, some letters, and more in a future entry).

This is his first attempt at constructing a clamshell case for a book.  Turned out rather fine!  In a future post I will document Ron’s accumulation of the knowledge and tools he put to use in this project, with step-by-step photographs.

Last but not least, here is the CAKE we had fun making together for Valentine’s Day in our own kitchen (which we call “The Devil’s Workshop” when we are making a decadent dessert like this!).

Homemade Peanut Butter Cake (Mmmmmmmm!)

And here’s where we found the recipe:  http://www.misshomemade.com/peanutbuttercakerecipe.html

But now, it is still Valentine’s Day eve, so I will leave you to enjoy the rest of the evening!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://oldscrolls.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/a-biblio-valentine-a-hand-crafted-leather-clamshell-case/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

